Class of 2012 Finalists: Pro Football Hall of Fame
Topics from a social,economical and racial standpoint. - Company Message
RSS Follow Become a Fan

Recent Posts

Popsicle Brothers Hockey Awards 2013-14
Kentucky Wildcats Basketball: Who’s Your All-Time Favorite?
ESPN & CFL reach multi-year US broadcast deal
Black Churches To Offer First Aid For Mental Health
Misquote on MLK Memorial Tomb?

Most Popular Posts

An Early Peek At The Stanley Cup Playoffs (Part Two)
The Greatest Women’s World Cup Finals
NHL declines to send strong message
Former Providence Hoop Player In Drug Charges
Pittsburgh's Negro League heritage celebrated


Auto Racing
Black College Baseball
Black History
Book Reviews
Civil rights
College Bowls
College Football
College Hoops
College Sports
Communications, TV
Domestic Violence
Economic News
Fan Feedback
HBCU Baseball
HBCU Hoops
HBCU Men's Basketball
HBCU Sports
HBCU Women's Basketball
High School Sports
Horse Racing
Human interest
Legal Issues
Major College Hoops
Men's College Basketball
Minor League Baseball
MLB Baseball
Movie Reviews
NBA Basketball
Negro League Baseball
News Media
News, general
NFL Football
NHL Hockey
Op Ed
Other Sports
Police brutality
Pro Basketball
Pro Football
Sports Administration
Sports and history
Sports and TV
Sports Apparel
Sports Business
Sports commentary
Sports Media
Sports Medicine
Sports Psychology
Sports, general
The Judicial System
Track and Field
Weird Stories
WNBA Basketball
Women's Basketball
Women's College Basketball
Women's Issues
Women's Sports
World News
World Sports
Youth Sports


July 2014
June 2014
April 2014
March 2014
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010

powered by

My Blog

Class of 2012 Finalists: Pro Football Hall of Fame

CANTON, Ohio -- Two first-year eligible nominees – coach Bill Parcells and tackle Will Shields – are among the 15 modern-era finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the Hall’s Selection Committee meets in Indianapolis, Ind. on Saturday, Feb. 4, 2012.

Joining the first-year eligible, are 12 modern-era players and a contributor. The 15 modern-era finalists, along with the two senior nominees announced in August 2011 (former Pittsburgh Steelers cornerback Jack Butler and former Detroit Lions and Washington Redskins guard Dick Stanfel) will be the only candidates considered for Hall of Fame election when the 44-member Selection Committee meets.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent. Although technically a first-year eligible candidate, Parcells has been a finalist twice before (2001, 2002) following his announced retirement as head coach of the New York Jets in 1999.

At the time the Hall of Fame By-Laws did not require a coach to be retired the now mandatory five seasons. Parcells returned to coach the Dallas Cowboys in 2003 and the five-year waiting period was in effect when he retired from coaching in 2006.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees*) with their positions, teams, and years active follow:

– Running Back – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

– Wide Receiver/Kick Returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

* – Cornerback – 1951-59 Pittsburgh Steelers

– Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

– Center – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

– Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

– Defensive End/Linebacker – 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

– Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

– Defensive End/Linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

– Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks

– Running Back – 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets

– Coach – 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys

– Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

– Tackle – 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs

– Guard – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

* – Guard – 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

– Cornerback/Safety – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

In addition to Parcells, other finalists who have been eligible in previous years include Bettis, Brown, Carter, Dawson, Doleman, Haley, Kennedy, Martin, Reed, Roaf and Stanfel. Although they were eligible in previous years, this is the first time Butler, DeBartolo, Greene and Williams have been finalists.

From this year’s list, four players – Butler, Dawson, Kennedy, and Shields spent their entire NFL career with just one team.

Butler and Stanfel were selected as senior candidates by the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee at their August 2011 meeting. The Seniors Committee reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers took place more than 25 years ago.

The remaining 15 modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall’s 44-member Selection Committee from a list of 105 preliminary nominees that earlier was reduced to a list of 26 semifinalists.

To be eligible for election, modern-era players and coaches must be retired at least five consecutive seasons. Contributors need not be retired.

Doleman, Greene, and Haley have been eligible for eight years. Dawson, Kennedy, and Reed have each been eligible for election for seven years, Carter five years, and Brown and Williams three years.

Bettis, Martin and Roaf are in their second year of eligibility. Since the retirement minimum for a player prior to 1968 was three years, senior nominees Butler and Stanfel have been eligible since 1963 when the Hall of Fame first opened.

The Selection Committee will meet in Indianapolis, Ind. on Saturday, February 4, 2012, to elect the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012. The election results will be announced at 5:30 p.m. ET during a one-hour NFL Network special, live from the Super Bowl Media Center.

The Class of 2012 will be the 50th class to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

At the 2012 selection meeting, the selectors will thoroughly discuss the careers of each finalist. 

Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s current ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year.

No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected. Representatives of the accounting firm Deloitte & Touche will tabulate all votes during the meeting.

At the announcement, Pro Football Hall of Fame President/Executive Director Steve Perry will be presented with an envelope containing the names of the nominees elected. Each newly elected member will be contacted immediately by the Hall of Fame. Members of the Class of 2012 in Indianapolis for the Super Bowl will be asked to join the live announcement show.

Those not able to attend will be asked to join via teleconference.

0 Comments to Class of 2012 Finalists: Pro Football Hall of Fame:

Comments RSS

Add a Comment

Your Name:
Email Address: (Required)
Make your text bigger, bold, italic and more with HTML tags. We'll show you how.
Post Comment
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint